Foto: Michael Bry

  Foto: Michael Bry

Matyas Wolter

Sitar & Surbahar

Matyas begann in jungen Jahren mit dem Gitarrenspiel. Während seines musikwissenschaftlichen Studiums an der TU Berlin beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit indischer Raga Musik und war verzaubert. Um all die komplexen Feinheiten jener Musik auf traditionelle Weise zu erlernen, begann er Sitar und Surbahar-Musik unter Meister Subroto Roy Chowdhury (Senia Gharana) zu lernen und lebte mehr als fünf Jahre zusammen mit seinem Lehrer in dessen Haus in Kalkutta. Nach dem Ableben seines Gurus 2017 setzte er sein Studium unter der Führung des berühmten Sarod-Meisters Irfan Khan (Shajahanpur-Lucknow Gharana) fort.

Matyas gastierte international auf zahlreichen namhaften Bühnen: Dover Lane Music Conference (Kolkata), Nehru Center (London), Indische Botschaft Berlin, Sitar Festival St. Petersburg (Russland), Pakistanische Botschaft Berlin, Glastonbury Festival (UK), Leverkusener Jazztage, Fusion Festival (D), Internationales Jazz Festival Izmir (Türkei), ICCR Hall (Kolkata), Rudolstadt Festival/TFF (D) etc.

Durch seine Arbeit mit dem renommierten World-Jazz-Ensemble Pulsar Trio (Gewinner des Creole-Global-Music-Award 2014) hat Matyas sich und seinen Instrumenten ein breites Publikum erspielt. Bislang hat er drei Alben mit klassischer Raga-Musik und drei hochgelobte Alben mit dem Pulsar Trio produziert. Daneben arbeitete Matyas in zahlreichen musikalischen Projekten als Gastmusiker und komponierte Filmmusik. Zuletzt war er Mitbegründer des Berlin-Raga-Tribe (BRT), einer Initiative zur Förderung authentischer Aufführungen traditioneller Raga-Musik in und um Berlin.

 www.matyasitar.de

Foto: Michael Bry

  Foto: Michael Bry

Matyas Wolter

Sitar & Surbahar

Matyas started playing the guitar in his youth. During his studies of music at TU Berlin he intensively dealt with Indian Raga music and he was charmed by it. To learn all those complex subtleties of that music in a traditional way he started playing sitar and surbahar music under his master Subroto Roy Chowdhury (Senia Gharana) living more than five years together with his teacher in his house in Kolkata. After his Guru passed away in 2017 he continued his studies under guidance of the famous Sarod-master Irfan Khan (Shajahanpur-Lucknow Gharana).

Matyas guested internationally on numerous well-known stages: Dover Lane Music Conference (Kolkata), Nehru Center (London), Indian Embassy Berlin, Sitar Festival St. Petersburg (Russia), Pakistani Embassy Berlin, Glastonbury Festival (UK), Leverkusen Jazztage, Fusion Festival (D), International Jazz Festival Izmir (Turkey), ICCR Hall (Kolkata), Rudolstadt Festival/TFF (D), etc.

Due to his work with the renowned world-jazz-ensemble Pulsar Trio (winner of the Creole-Global-Music-Award 2014) Matyas and his instruments have attracted a vast audience. So far he has produced three albums with classic Raga-music and three highly praised albums with Pulsar Trio. Furthermore Matyas worked in numerous music projects as guest musician and he has also composed film music. Recently he was a co-founder of Berlin-Raga-Tribe (BRT), an initiative for promoting authentic performances of traditional Raga music in and around Berlin.

 www.matyasitar.de